the adventure of needing a cat

Leave a comment

11.07.11 by jules

Let’s just skip all that linguistic beating around the bush that usually intros my writing and get straight to the nitty, gritty facts. I need a cat. Right now. In my office, at my desk I NEED a cat. Because life has dealt me a strange and anxiety-nausea inducing hand and my admirable power of self-control has been left bloody-nosed and weeping on the curb.

Remember Luke Skywalker’s childhood pal who was flying the other fighter when they were having their kamikaze attack on the Death Star? And how the evil guys were on his tail and right before he got blown to bits he kept saying, “I can’t shake ’em! I can’t shake ’em!” and trying to look over his shoulders all panicked and I’m-gonna-die-like. Yeah, that guy is me. Except for his being male. And a space fighter pilot. And living and dying long, long ago in a galaxy far, far away. Ok, so basically just the “I can’t shake ’em!” part. But you get me, right? That’s why I need a cat. There’s nothing like a furry, purring little spoon to make the craziness shut up for a minute. Animal therapy is real people, there’s proof. So give me a cat for crying out loud!

Of course, there is always the other option. The one where I don’t need a cat. Because…you know…I’ve got the Master and Creator of the entire universe watching out for me and willing to talk to me and help me and comfort me. Because he promises me peace in all circumstances, even peace that seems pretty crazy because my circumstances are ones that may actually justify panic. So maybe instead of begging the blogosphere for a cat, I should be looking to God as my source of peace. It’s not easy. Trust me when I say that most of the time I feel I’m fighting a losing battle. But the Bible says that sometimes you’ve got to talk about things like they should be, not like they are. So I’ll say that I’ve got peace when I feel the water of anxiety splashing up my neck, just moments from swallowing me. And I’ll have a mustard-seed faith (because that’s all I can muster – yeah that was a pun, but true) that God knows what he’s doing, and I really can trust him. Not that I would turn down a cat too.

Be anxious for nothing, but in everything by prayer and supplication, with thanksgiving, let your requests be made known to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus. – Philippians 4:6-7

So what are your thoughts/comments? Is there anyone out there who needs to trade their search for a cat for accepting God’s peace too?

Leave a Reply

